Yogi Berra

“Cut my pie into four pieces, I don’t think I could eat eight.”
― Yogi Berra
Well said, Yogi, well said.
On that note, I decided to make a “new ” pie.  I made a crust out of oatmeal cookie dough.  I like the Oatmeal Cookie recipe on the Quaker Oats site or box – without the raisins.
So, I simply put the dough in a pie plate and set another pie plate over top and pushed down on it so it spread evenly in the pan.  I baked it at 350 degrees till done.  Cool it completely.
While that was cooling, I took a recipe from allrecipes.com for double chocolate cream pie – or use your favorite recipe.  But instead of using any unsweetened chocolate in this recipe, I lessened the sugar and used all milk chocolate  – chocolate chips.
As per the directions, I poured it into the cooled pie crust and covered immediately with plastic wrap – so a skin will not form on the filling – and popped it into the refrigerator until ready to serve.  You should keep it in fridge for at least 4 hours.  Top it with your favorite whipped cream topping and I sprinkled a crumbled oatmeal cookie over the top.
BAM!  It was a hit among some visitors.  And I have to say it was quite good.
We sat together eating perfectly grilled burgers on the Weber Grill – charcoal – with 2 beautiful people and then made a pot of coffee with half of the beans from www.theroasterie.com – their Autumn Harvest blend that is now back for the season – and the “new” Oatmeal Cookie Chocolate Cream Pie!  It was an incredible evening.
Until next time, think Pie! 🙂
cate b